Uncategorized

The Melting of Witchcraft and Mundane Life

Also related to my last post and something I wrote about earlier on Facebook, I had a moment where I realized how the practice of witchcraft truly can overlap into this sort of spiritual experience or way of living.

There are several debates about where witchcraft is at today and the various ways it can be practiced. Some people say it can be split from spiritual practice and made more into a science or pure “craft” without much spiritual aspect. And for a while I agreed with that. But of course there are others who argue that witchcraft and spirituality are inherently linked together – to best practice, you should have some understanding of where the aspects of life and creation you’re working with are being drawn from, and what their nature is, which is where a spiritual aspect comes in. And I see that point too.

At different times, I’ve felt myself drifting more towards either side of this debate, often depending on where I was at the time in my own practice.

Anyway, as I’ve been thinking today about refocusing ourselves away from trying to force things in life, and instead towards just letting things unfold, and doing this as a way of living that is more in tune with our own selves. With these thoughts I find that I’m reminded of a common practice among witches in magical workings.

Among many witches it is often believed that once a magical working has been completed, you need to do your very best to stop thinking about it. In spellcrafting, we put a lot of energy and focus onto some thing we want to manifest, and then we release it… and need to let it go. It is said that if you continue to keep ruminating over the issue. then you are drawing that energy you released to become manifested back to yourself. If you’re like me you believe that magical intent needs to travel to higher realms in order to manifest, and it makes sense with this belief because the creative energy cannot fully reach those realms to fully form if you keep drawing it back to yourself in this realm, where you should be focused on other, more mundane things to support the magic you have working in other places.

I think this is a place where as a practicing witch you discover that you’re living your craft every day, in even the simplest of ways. Many witches say that as time goes on and they become more comfortable in their craft, they sometimes find that they feel the need to actually perform formal spells less and less. There could be many reasons for this. There is the possibility that the individual is has become so well in tune with their will that they feel comfortable with the balance they strike in daily life between mundane acts of will and magical acts of will. Sometimes I feel this way, although not always.

It’s true, there comes a time on the witch’s path, where you cannot separate or clearly define any boundaries between your mundane life and your magical life… they are one.

One of the biggest lessons to learn in witchcraft, for me at least, has been learning how to balance ‘mundane’ efforts with magical efforts. Learning when to use magic and when not to use magic, is one of the biggest lessons. It’s not just about the use of magic, though – it’s about developing the awareness of what our other options are and how to utilize our resources. As a witch, it is crucial to be aware of where your energy is going and how to focus it and how to allocate it. Sometimes that means stepping out of magical realms and focusing on the mundane… then, things open up again.

Anyway, while I used to believe that witchcraft and spirituality could be separate, I’m finding that for me they are linked… so closely linked. Twelve years on this path, and I’ve finally feel as though I’ve fully arrived at this place where this stuff is melding. It’s making me excited for the future, but also is a bit unnerving as I work to rebalance with all of this.

Anyway I’ve been writing a long time so apologies if this post seems a little muddled in it’s thinking…

Leave a Reply

